Main Page

Table of Contents


General Information

Undergraduate Studies

Graduate Studies


Continuing Education & Training Programs

Appendix: Personnel & Enrollment
















scgard stair newcamp

>The University

 AUC Faculty

The faculty of AUC is a highly qualified group of academics and professionals who are committed to finding innovative ways to meet the educational needs of AUC students. The university's full-time faculty is complemented by an extensive part-time teaching staff, frequent visiting lecturers, and the Distinguished Visiting Professor program.

AUC's full-time teaching faculty is primarily American and Egyptian, in addition to citizens from about a dozen other countries. By drawing from the national universities, business and professional communities and the Egyptian government, AUC has recruited a well-qualified part-time faculty. These academics, business leaders, journalists, government officials, and professionals bring their practical experience to the classroom. The exchange of ideas also takes place on a more informal basis as academic departments and student organizations invite experts from a wide range of professional fields to give lectures and demonstrations during the weekly assembly hours and in the evenings.

To augment its educational and cultural offerings, the university established many years ago a Distinguished Visiting Professor program which brings to the AUC campus a number of eminent scholars, writers, and artists for short-term lectureships or workshops. Some of these professorships are supported by named endowments or annual grants in recognition of their importance to the university and the community. Current DVP endowments include the Christopher Thoron DVP, the Bayard Dodge DVP in Arabic Studies, the General Dynamics DVP in Engineering, the Charles J. Hedlund DVP in Middle East Studies, and the Endowed DVP in English and Comparative Literature.

The presidents of the university have been:


Years of Service

1. Dr. Charles R. Watson (Founder)


2. Dr. John S. Badeau


3. Dr. Raymond F. McLain


4. Dr. Thomas A. Bartlett


5. Mr. Christopher Thoron


6. Dr. Cecil K. Byrd


7. Dr. Richard F. Pedersen


8. Dr. Donald McDonald


9. Dr. John D. Gerhart


Copyright 2000-2001, The American University in Cairo

[Statement of Mission]
[Governance & the Board of Trustees]
[AUC Faculty]
[Financial Support]
[Scholarships and Fellowships]
[Special Awards]