Main Page

Table of Contents


General Information

Undergraduate Studies

Graduate Studies


Continuing Education & Training Programs

Appendix: Personnel & Enrollment
















scgard stair newcamp

>The University

 Governance & the Board of Trustees

The university is governed by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees, currently consisting of thirty-five members drawn from various fields of endeavor; the President of AUC is also an ex-officio member of the Board. In addition, there are twenty individuals designated as Advisory Trustees, many of whom have rendered distinguished service on the Board in past years. The Board has its own by-laws and elects a chair for an annual term. A complete list of members, officers of the Board, and advisory trustees is provided in an appendix to this volume.

The Board meets generally three times a year; the May and November meetings are held in New York, and the February meeting is held on the Cairo campus. The Cairo meeting enables Board members to review developments first hand, and to meet with faculty, students and staff.

The Board of Trustees reviews and approves all major policies, the university budget and major facilities and program development plans. It sets the annual tuition rates and provides leadership in raising funds for the university. The university is administered by a president selected by the Board of Trustees. The current president is Dr. John Gerhart who became AUC's president in September 1998.

Board of Trustees


Paul B. Hannon, Chairman

W. Kelly Simpson, Vice Chairman

Thomas A. Bartlett, Vice Chairman

Edith Crary Howe, Treasurer

J. Dinsmore Adams, Jr., Recording Secretary

Larry L. Fabian, Executive Secretary


J. Dinsmore Adams, Jr.

Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle

New York, New York

Moataz Al-Alfi E.C.I.T.P (Americana)

Giza, Egypt

Alexander Aldrich

Saratoga Springs, New York

Gordon M. Anderson

Keystone, Colorado

Thomas A. Bartlett

Eugene, Oregon

James D. Bond

Executive Vice President

Collins & Company

Arlington, Virginia.

Barbara Brown

Chardon, Ohio

Paul I. Corddry

Naples, Florida

Mary Cross

Princeton, New Jersey

Elizabeth S. Driscoll

St. Paul, Minnesota

Nabil Elaraby

Zaki Hashem and Partners

Attorneys at Law

Cairo, Egypt.

C. Stedman Garber, Jr.

President and Cheif Executive, Sante Fe International Corporations.

Dallas, Texas.

John D. Gerhart


The American University in Cairo

Cairo, Egypt

Peter A.D. Giblin

Esher-Surrey, England

Paul B. Hannon

London, England

John R. Hayes

New York, New York

Elias K. Hebeka

Executive Vice President

for Operations-Worldwide Revlon Inc.

New York, New York

B. Boyd Hight

O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Los Angeles, California

Edith Crary Howe

Palmer & Dodge LLP

Boston, Massachusetts

Katherine Nouri Hughes

Princeton, New Jersey

Ibrahim Kamel

Cairo, Egypt

Robert W. Kasten, Jr.

President, Kasten & Co.

Washington, DC

Farhad Kazemi

New York University

New York, New York

Arthur Lindenauer

Executive Vice President


Schlumberger Limited

New York, New York

Troland S. Link

Managing Director, Legal Division

Deutsche Bank North America Holding Co.

New York, New York

Bruce L. Ludwig

Chairman, Ludwig and Company

Los Angeles, California

John J. McCloy II

Mondial Ltd.

New York, New York.

Hatem Niazi Mostafa

Chairman, Nimos Engineering Co.

Cairo, Egypt

Robert A. Oden, Jr.

President, Kenyon College

Gambier, Ohio

William B. Quandt

University of Virginia

Charlottesville, Virginia

William A. Rugh

President, Amideast

Washington, D.C.

W. Kelly Simpson

Katonah, New York

Thomas E. Thomason

Vice President & General Manager


Cairo, Egypt

John Elting Treat

Vice President for Energy

Booz Allen & Hamilton

San Francisco, California

John A. Urquhart

John A. Urquhart Associates

Fairfield, Connecticut

Frank G. Wisner

Vice chairman, External Affairs

American International Group

New York, New York

Ahmed H. Zewail

California Institute of Technology

Pasadena, California

Advisory Trustees:

Esmat Abdel Meguid

Theodore S. Bacon Jr.

Willard W. Brown

Miner D. Crary, Jr.

Hermann Fr. Eilts

Miriam Thorne Gilpatric

Charles J. Hedlund

Lawrence H. Hyde

George F. Jewett, Jr.

Frank Jungers

Mostafa Khalil

Weldon D. Kruger

Marion Lloyd

Richard M. Morrow

Louise W. Moore Pine

A. Lachlan Reed

Samir S. Shihabi

Frank E. Vandiver

Eugene D. Wadsworth

Herman B. Wells


Copyright 2000-2001, The American University in Cairo

[Statement of Mission]
[Governance & the Board of Trustees]
[AUC Faculty]
[Financial Support]
[Scholarships and Fellowships]
[Special Awards]